Wednesday, March 7, 2018 - 13:13

There was no shortage of controversy in the opening round of the Supercars Championship in Adelaide during the first week of March.

Tickford Racing brought home a pair of top five finishes at the Adelaide 500. However Frosty was black flagged for crossing the Turn 2 kerb too many times, resulting in a pit lane penalty.

Frosty vehemently disputes the PLP issued on Lap 56 that dampened his second race of the 2018 Supercars season.

“I’m pretty confident I had two wheels on the track, so I don’t know how I got the penalty? It’s been judged by how you hit the kerb, not where your wheels are placed, so I’m pretty confused by the decision,” Mark said.

After a hard crash during practice Cameron Waters (No. 6 Monster Energy Ford Falcon FG X) recovered to finish fifth, thanks to some handy work by the team to repair the car.

“It was good to reward the boys for all the hard work they put in,” Cameron said.

Chaz Mostert was the best performer of the Tickford Racing team, narrowly missing out on the podium with a solid fourth in Race 2 of the season.

“We just ran our race. We got a little bit of traffic coming off pit lane in the middle stints, which put us back from possibly a podium. But saying that, I’m pretty happy with a fourth place,” Chaz said.

While the PLP issued to Frosty was a sour note to finish the Adelaide 500, a number of our South Australian customers enjoyed a private dinner with Mark Winterbottom on Wednesday February 28.

It was a great way to start Orrcon Steel’s 2018 Racing program.

For more information on Orrcon Steel’s racing program, please get in touch with your account manager.

Adelaide 500 Results:

No. 5 The Bottle-O Ford Falcon FG X Mark Winterbottom

Top Ten Shootout: 5th, 1m20.12s.

Finished: 13th.

No. 6 Monster Energy Ford Falcon FG X Cameron Waters

Top Ten Shootout: 6th, 1m20.17s.

Finished: 5th.

No. 55 Supercheap Auto Ford Falcon FG X Chaz Mostert

Top Ten Shootout: 6th, 1m20.24s.

Finished: 4th

Driver's Championship Leaderboard:

1) Shane van Gisbergen – 300 points

2) David Reynolds – 258

3) James Courtney – 240

4) Chaz Mostert – 216

5) Scott McLaughlin – 207

8) Mark Winterbottom – 177

9) Cameron Waters – 168